My Review on Poughkeepsie by Debra Anastasia

Characters:

Livia McHugh, Blake Hartt, Chris, Beckett Taylor, Cole Bridge, Kyle McHugh, Eve, Mouse.

The Synopsis:

He counts her smiles every day and night at the train station. And morning and evening, the beautiful commuter acknowledges him—just like she does everyone else on the platform. But Blake Hartt is not like the others . . . he’s homeless. Memories of a broken childhood have robbed him of peace and twisted delusions into his soul. He stays secluded from the sun, sure the world would run from him in the harsh light of day.

Each day, Livia McHugh smiles politely and acknowledges her fellow commuters as she waits for the train to the city. She dismisses this kindness as nothing special, just like her. She’s the same as a million other girls—certainly no one to be cherished. But special or not, she smiles every day, never imagining that someone would rely on the simple gesture as if it were air to breathe.

When the moment comes that Livia must do more than smile, without hesitation she steps into the fray to defend the homeless man. And she’s surprised to discover an inexplicable connection with her new friend. After danger subsides, their smiles become conversation. Their words usher in a friendship, which awakens something in each of them. But it’s not long before their bond must prove its strength. Entanglements from the past challenge both their love and their lives.

Blake’s heart beats for Livia’s, even if her hands have to keep its rhythm. Love is patient. Love is kind. Love never fails. Love never fails, right?

In an interwoven tale of unlikely loves and relationships forged by fire, Debra Anastasia takes readers into the darkest corners of human existence, only to show them the radiant power of pure adoration and true sacrifice. Complicated families and confused souls find their way to light in this novel, which manages to be racy, profane, funny, and reverent all at once.

My review:

I read Poughkeepsie after some friends of mine on twitter suggested it. And I think I’ve read this book more than three times since the first I read it last month. I laughed and I cried (sometimes at the same time) while I’m reading Poughkeepsie.  I think, the best word to describe Poughkeepsie is magical. This is the kind of book that you can’t stop thinking about once you’ve read it.

When I’m on page 3 of Poughkeepsie, a question pop in my head; Why in the world is this beautiful man (Blake) homeless? And I think that’s where Debra Anastasia’s magic begins. Every character in Poughkeepsie has flaws, but somehow I can’t help but to love each and every one of them (seriously, I still can’t decide which brothers I want to keep for myself).

Blake Hartt is a quiet homeless man who is always at that one spot in Poughkeepsie Train Station where grad student Livia McHugh goes to every morning to get to school. He has been watching and counting the smiles she bestows upon him from afar for months. One morning, as Blake is being harassed by a group of bullies, Livia steps in to defend him. And what follows, in my opinion, is one of  the most romantic and beautiful love story I have ever had the pleasure of reading.

While Blake and Livia are the main characters in Poughkeepsie, as I mention before, I really fell in love with the supporting characters.  Cole, Kyle, Beckett, Eve and Mouse were all great characters.  Kyle and Beckett  had me laughing out loud at pretty much every word that came out of their  mouth.  My absolute favorite characters in Poughkeepsie were Beckett and Eve (thank God Debra said the sequel will focus on them). These are two beautifully flawed characters that I really bonded with.  Beckett and Eve are who they are because of their bitter pasts. Life is definitely not fair, but these two characters took the reins and made their own destiny.

Another beautiful relationship in Poughkeepsie is the brotherhood of Blake, Cole and Beckett. Brothers, not by blood mind you, have never had such a strong and amahzing connection. Three men, who mean more to each other than anything else in the world, even their own lives.

Finally, for me, the characters in Poughkeepsie represent; kindness, forgiveness, sacrifice, courage, acceptance and twisted bastard.

I recommend this book for your TBR list. But please be aware that this book is definitely NOT for minors.  If you do not like cursing or violence in the novels you read, Poughkeepsie is probably not for you.  Nevertheless, I think the language accurately reflects the people and circumstances in the novel.

Visit Debra Anastasia’s website for awesome playlist and official trailer of Poughkeepsie:

http://www.DebraAnastasia.com

(My personal favorite songs are: Wait for You by Ron Pope and Reason Why by Ron Pope and Grace Weber)

Oh, and follow her on twitter too, her tweets will brighten your TL.

My favorite quotes:

“Don’t tie your success to anything other than what’s inside you”

― Debra AnastasiaPoughkeepsie

“Beckett’s probably the hardest man there is to love,” Blake said. “He does life wrong for all the right reasons.”
― Debra AnastasiaPoughkeepsie

Thanks for stopping by 😉 xx

Image

One thought on “My Review on Poughkeepsie by Debra Anastasia

Leave a Reply

